Site Template

City of Poplarville, Mississippi
200 Highway 26 East
Poplarville, MS 39470
601.795.8161 Phone
601.795.0141 Fax

HOME   >   Poplarville Planning Commission

Poplarville Planning Commission

Planning Commission

      Janie Richardson, Chairwoman 
      Nita Gilpin
      Michele Lewis

      Katrina Mizell

      Daniel Brown

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​CITY HALL EMPLOYEES

 Jane O'Neal, City Clerk

Linda DuPont, Deputy Clerk

Mona Seal, Deputy Clerk

Joann Canaan, Deputy Clerk

Missy Lambert, Court Clerk


      Don T. "Butch" Raby, Jr​. , Police Chief

      Jonathan Head , Fire Chief

      Sam Hale, Public Works Superintendent ​​





Poplarville Mississippi: Established in 1884 – derived from an early landowner named “Poplar” Jim Smith. - “Poplar” Jim was so named for a stand of Poplar trees on his homestead property in the county. Since the land was owned by Mr. “Poplar” Jim Smith, the county seat was named Poplarville. Poplar, any of several species of trees belonging to the genus Populus of the willow family (Salicaceae). The name Populus refers to the fact that the trees were often planted around public meeting places in Roman times.