Site Template

City of Poplarville, Mississippi
200 Highway 26 East
Poplarville, MS 39470
601.795.8161 Phone
601.795.0141 Fax





                                                   From Left to Right:

​                          Tony Smith                                         Alderman

                          Anne Gendusa Smith                       Alderwoman

                          Shirley Wiltshire                               Alderwoman

                          Mayor Rossie Creel                          Mayor

                          Margaret Ann Smith                        Alderwoman

                          Kevin L. Tillman, Sr.                          Alderman



Poplarville Mississippi: Established in 1884 – derived from an early landowner named “Poplar” Jim Smith. - “Poplar” Jim was so named for a stand of Poplar trees on his homestead property in the county. Since the land was owned by Mr. “Poplar” Jim Smith, the county seat was named Poplarville. Poplar, any of several species of trees belonging to the genus Populus of the willow family (Salicaceae). The name Populus refers to the fact that the trees were often planted around public meeting places in Roman times.